The Wren

By TheWren

Y...........is for Yachts

This is the penultimate entry for the alphaponty alphabet challenge. It seemed silly not to take the opportunity of putting in my "Y" blip while I was beside the sea.

This is Skippool Creek where a number of folk keep their yachts, including my brother-in-law. The narrow creek leads into the River Wyre which then flows into Morecambe Bay and the boats are sufficiently afloat one and a half hour each side of the high tide to allow a window of three hours sailing time. In between times the boats are left safely tethered, but high and dry on the steep muddy banks. When the tide is in, however the creek looks delightful and I have seen owners sitting in their yacht shortly before the tide fully floats their vessel, ready to make a quick departure to optimise their sailing time. If you look to the left of the shot, just in front of the reddish wall, there is a narrow road which leads down to the Skippool Yacht Club. This proximity to the road causes an occasional problem to local residents as the creek does in fact flood on very high tides, probably about six times a year, and if you get caught out then you just have to be patient and wait for the water levels to recede before venturing out in the car. That has happened to me on a couple of occasions when visiting my sister.

I arrived home tonight after driving the final four hour leg of my journey in very good, dry conditions. I am quite tired now so will be off to bed and hope to catch up properly later tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.