Today's Special

By Connections

Changing Views

Take a couple of minutes to look at this.

I saw every one of those amazing artworks today. 

Seattle Art Museum's "Kehinde Wiley: A New Republic" exhibition is thought-provoking -- and mind-expanding. Seeing it with my artist friend A gave an extra richness to the experience.

In his artwork, 38-year-old Kehinde Wiley portrays people of color from the United States, Haiti, India, China, the Middle East, and Central and South America -- places that, with the exception of my own country and a very brief visit to India, I've never seen.

I could write much, much more, but instead, I urge you to watch an engaging brief trailer here about Wiley's latest project, "An Economy of Grace," his first body of work that centers on women. The two paintings and the sculpture that I've blipped are part of that project. 

And if there is any way you can get to Seattle Art Museum before this exhibit closes on May 8, do it!! 

(The extra is Alios Itzhak, from Kehinde Wiley's series "The World Stage: Israel," 2011.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.