The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Salmon & Cricket

The rain had stopped but the temperature had dropped dramatically. It was so cold in the night that the campsite owner said there'd been snow! I was in no rush to leave so I made use of the power and wifi in the kitchen with a German couple before we were kicked out for cleaning. However, the owner told us about a "famous" bakery around the corner with amazing pies so I went there for my lunch and indeed the pork belly & apple pie was delicious, especially on a cold day.

I stopped off at Lake Tekapo to see the dog statue and church, like most tourists, but I remembered them well from 11 years ago and they're not exactly exciting so I left quickly. Then I went to a town called Twizel but realised there was nothing to do, so continued out of town to a salmon farm which had been recommended. I'd been there before but only to feed the fish rather than buy anything. This time I bought two packs of sushi, one piece of hot smoked salmon and a salmon chowder to warm me up! Oh and I also fed the fish.

Shortly after that, the sun came out and the rest of the drive was in the glorious afternoon sunshine. I arrived at a cheap ($5) campsite which was extremely popular. There were probably over 200 people camped around the outside of the cricket pitch. It was another really clear night which meant amazing stars but damn cold!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.