The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Central Otago

I drove to Rippon winery and arrived exactly at 11am as they opened. It was such an amazing setting (pictured) and the wines were delicious too. It's the most northerly vineyard in Central Otago, apparently.

I drove north around Lake Wanaka just to see the amazing views, stopped to eat some of the delicious salmon I'd bought yesterday and then I drove back towards Cromwell, one of the main wine areas of Central Otago.

I stopped at a couple of wineries on the way but one was charging $15 to taste five wines and the other let me try a couple of the pinot noirs (the region's speciality). I arrived at my campsite and by complete chance it was literally right next to three wineries! I had a quick shower and walked over to the first one. It was so nice to do a full wine tasting and not just tiny amounts of the reds because I'd be driving. The guy was really friendly and interesting, even giving me some special wines as I was the last person there.

Then I walked up the hill to the next winery. It was a small family business and I sat with the husband as the wife was dealing with a small group on the next table. The views were stunning and the afternoon sun was scorching. I thought I might actually get burnt while I was trying all the delicious wines. Again, the guy was very interesting and I learnt a few things.

Luckily for my liver, the third winery was closed by the time I got there. I was still so happy though, the Central Otago pinot noirs are seriously delicious and the landscape is stunning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.