Ways Of Seeing

By dollyfish

Time to reflect

This photo has been edited and is a lot clearer than in reality. In real life, because of there being two windows to look through, the reflection and the inside of the building are difficult to tell apart.

I was happily snapping away when I suddenly became aware of a figure, on what appeared to be on a ladder, inside the house. I couldn't quite make the person out but could sense them looking straight at me and wondering what the hell I was doing. So, in my deaf and dumb voice, I apologetically tried to explain that I was merely taking photos to 'test' my camera.

And then I had a horrible feeling that this other person was actually me.

On one hand I was relieved that I hadn't been taking photos of some stranger up a ladder without realising. On the other hand - I may have just been talking to my own reflection.

I still wasn't sure. So I waved. I got a wave back. I quickly realised this was no proof at all as most people would respond to a wave, with a wave.

So I jumped up and down.

It was definitely me.

My son said "Who were you waving at?"
"Myself."
"Why?"
"Because I thought I was a man up a ladder."
"And why did you jump up and down?"
"Because I thought I was a man up a ladder."
"Oh."

WARNING: Blipping can seriously damage your mental health

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.