The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Bowood 2016 #3 (Friday 25th March 2016)

Bowood's 2016 season opened on Good Friday to massive crowds. I had to park eight wide rows of cars away from the entrance and queue for twenty minutes for my annual card to be registered (I was bribed with a mini-egg), but I wanted to visit on the first day of opening and I also knew that it would be the best weather of the Easter weekend.

I had expected to find quiet corners away from the throng, but there were none due to an Easter Egg Hunt in progress. Whilst the families were mostly well-behaved, some allowed their children to sit amidst the daffodil beds and clamber up the blooming magnolia trees.

I used my Lumix LX100 for some macro shots, my Nikon P900 superzoom for long-range shots, including some of a glorious but distant pheasant, and my red Pentax K50 for all the other shots. For Blip, I needed a shot that showed that I was in the grounds of Bowood and so in the chosen frame Bowood House is visible in the background.

A couple of buzzards circled and soared high overhead, there were many pairs of great crested grebes on the Lake, lesser black-backed gulls congregated on the lake and in the air and the Canada geese were honking as usual. I had a chat with a couple of Japanese tourists before wending my way back through the Gardens and back to the Kiosk after about an hour and a half.

L.
26.3.2016 (1647 hr)

Blip #1787 (#2037 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #000
Day #2192
LOTD #1021 (#1145 including archived blips)

Taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX100 (RAW)

A Visit To Bowood, 25 March 2016 (Flickr album)(33 photos)

Bowood 2016 series
Bowood series
Bowood 2013-2016 (Flickr collection)(Work in progress)
Flora series
Landscape series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Lush - Out Of Control (2016)
Lush split up in 1998, not having performed after the devastating death of their drummer in 1996, but reformed in 2015 with Justin Welch (formerly from Elastica) on drums. Speaking on 6 Music about their unchanged sound, founder member Miki Berenyi said modestly that they weren't good enough musicians to sound like anything other than themselves, something for which I am pleased.

One year ago:
Pallington Lakes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.