Not really today.

Due to the dire weather forecast I nipped out with Polly dog midday and then decided to sort some old photographs.  Why I have kept so many I have no idea - I have embarked on a serious reduction programme.

I came across this little gem from my 'previous life'.  Taken in December 1999 - it shows 'yours truly' in the Blue Pig (Midgehole Working Mens Club).
There are a few points to note:
Bottle of whisky in pocket - I had won it in the Christmas Raffle.
Cigarette in left hand - did I really smoke?  Yes - but only Gauloises.
Torch in right hand - I was ready to leave and walk home.  Polly dog's predecessor - Bella dog, another Rhodesian Ridgeback - would now be ready to leave with me.
But - note the time on the clock - 2:15 - and it wasn't 2:15 pm.  This was a quite normal situation at the Blue Pig - way before the notion of 24 hour drinking came into being.  
It's when you come across photographs like this you realise how you (and things) have changed/evolved :-)

Only three days - minus one hour - to D Day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.