sarah1708

By sarah1708

Kinlochleven to Corrour

Today involved a long and challenging walk. My initial plan was to start today at kinlochleven, before staying in a bothy overnight 15km away and then walking another 10k the next day to Corrour. I would then have a night at Corrour (in the restaurant bedrooms because my friends Bruce and Shona work there) before heading back home on Monday.

The weather was horrendous all day, with a mix of light rain and very heavy rain (never no rain). I arrived at the bothy at 2pm and sat down inside, soaked through and shivering, and soon realised that staying there overnight would be incredibly unpleasant. I therefore decided to walk the rest of the way to Corrour, with my overnight backpack, and along VERY wet paths. There were also a few fast moving rivers with the stepping stones completely submerged, which didn't help with the wetness situation! So that last 10k was very slow - I think the last 3k took about 2 hours! But I'm here and I made it :) I've just had a shower and am now dry and just need to decide when to eat and go to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.