What a lovely day:-

By BKeeper

to Be Stuck Indoors

It has rained for most of the day here and with quite high winds.

Not a day for doing anything outside.

I had to hand this book by R.O.B. Manley (1888-1978)  

When it comes to bee keeping there are two schools. One group of bee keepers keep their bees as a hobby and the other group do things commercially.

I belong to the second group and even though I only keep a small number of hives they are run on commercial principles.

The book was first published in 1946  and this is a first edition.  I do not know how long I have had the book but it had been signed by the author.

This book now has more of a historical interest.  Its charming language speaks of the time just after the second world war and it is clear that it was pretty tough to be a commercial bee keeper then.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.