willthebruce

By WilltheBruce

Local Hero

Pennan is one of the prettiest settlements in north east Scotland. It was the location for the film with the same name as my title.

My host Carol and I spent a few hours pottering between coastal villages such as this - and were lucky enough to find bacon butties (generously filled and with a fried egg) in the village hall in Gamrie. Everything was done by volunteers and there was a true sense of community

I'm finding the friendliness of strangers so lovely - it helps being out with someone well-known - but even strangers to Carol were welcoming and very friendly

I got merino wool (and alpaca mixed with sari silk) in a delightful art gallery in Gamrie which solved belatedly what to get my sister for her birthday

The evening culminated in neighbours coming in for supper and Carol excelled herself - she could have fed an army with the food she'd cooked! Nothing went to waste and my new canine friend Lucy will be the recipient of carol's largess tomorrow

Guests have left and mine host has retired to bed. I'm watching the fire die down and contemplating life and have come to the conclusion that it's more than pretty good

It's always lovely to make new friends and cement the friendship of old ones

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.