The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Kitchen Confidential

Every good cook has shortcuts and secrets. Occasionally they will share them with close family or friends, but more often, they hold them close to the vest.

Nigella Lawson has a charming section in her recent cookbook, Nigella Kitchen, where she gives several tips to surviving in the kitchen. Many of these were handed down to her by her mother.

One of my Nigella favorites was purchasing a dish towel everywhere she vacations or visits, "no matter how embarrassingly touristy it is." When I read this, I smacked myself in the forehead, as I had completely forgotten that a Tucson, Arizona or Salt Lake City, Utah dishtowel would have been a far wiser choice than a shot glass, pen, and tea.

I'm not being sarcastic here. She is onto something! I also love how Nigella does not condone a kitchen matching too much, or looking overly "designed." In her humble opinion, a kitchen must look "lived in." I must admit, I agree.

An eclectic array of dishes and mugs grace my kitchen cabinets. Some are handed down by family, and others acquired at garage sales, thrift shops, and one of the many end-lot stores that have amazing prices on high end cookware. Yes, I have my Wusthof Trident knives and Commercial Calphalon pots and pans, but nothing matches anymore.

Two large roasting pans and an oversized baking tray produce some of the best stews, turkeys, prime ribs, and pastries one could ever hope to bake. I call them my "magic" pans, and swear that my mom had them blessed. Nothing sticks to them - ever. My brother has one of each as well, and I know that he guards them closely.

But, what, Ms. Love Child, does all of this have to do with an empty sink?

It's my little secret, passed down from my mother, and now, to you. A little something I learned as a Girl Scout as well. Clean up as you go, and never, ever, go to bed with a dirty kitchen.

I admit, there are evenings where I break this rule, and live to regret it the next morning. Who really wants to smell the remains of the day...ten hours later?

Kitchen Confidential? Maybe not as juicy as Anthony Bourdain, but from deep within my heart.

CLEAN YOUR SINK!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.