The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Dog Days

New Jersey has had more than its fair share of heat waves over the last year, with many days sporting heat indexes well into the triple digits. After a wet spring, we have found ourselves in a bit of a drought, and while New York City is being hit with torrential rain, here in my town, we simply hear thunder.

When I went to the market today, I was sure that these dark, menacing beasts would open up and pour out their wrath as I exited.

This did not happen.

At the library, I was certain that the large droplets of wet wonder slowly hitting the pavement, would turn into a flood as I returned from dropping off my daughter's borrowed CD's.

No such luck.

Sitting in my family room, watching the looming darkness of thunderheads overhead, the trees are barely moving, and the birds chirp without a care in the world.

Where is the rain?

It is just starting to fall.

On the deck.

Slowly cooling the heat...

of my pending rage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.