Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Song

Seeing as the trains were running, I headed up to Ilkley for a few hours as some semblance of an Easter outing. I'm still not up to a demanding walk, but I pottered around the town and wandered up the river a short way past the old bridge. Which is where I found this Song thrush, nicely showing the arrowhead markings on its breast which help to distinguish it from the Mistle thrush. A little further up river a Kingfisher flew across, perched and then back again before I lost sight of it.

On the trains and at stations along the route Northern have been busy removing their logo in advance of the changeover to the new franchise holders, Arriva, on April 1st. Arriva seem so have done a reasonable job with the trains in Wales, so let's hope they don't make fools of us in the North.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.