Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Kebabed & Skewered

I'd heard of this two shop fronts street graffiti art in Fox Street, Treharris, and thought I'd grab a photo. There were cars parked right infront of it so the only way to photograph it was with an 180 degree angle of view fish eye lens in which I could stand just a few feet infront.

I only use mirrorless cameras (as what you see in the viewfinder is what you get) and was stood between two cars, camera faced down, looking in the viewfinder reformatting the SD card and choosing the settings. As I was taking a photo of the art work I could hear someone asking why I'd taken a photo of the car. There were three men, a woman and child from the kebab shop who did not seem best pleased. I had to explain I was just sorting out camera settings, rather than use the rear screen, and hadn't taken a photo of their car but was taking a photo of the street art next to their shop! This seemed to apease them all. I can't find out who did the art work or why.

Afterwards, as it wasn't far away, I decided to find the coal slag on the mountain of which I'd taken a photo a few days ago of the sunset (here).
It was just off the village of Nelson and I'd been given directions that it was along the mountain track that runs between there and Llanbradach.

After a mile along a rough track, and through some large puddles, my 4x4 got stuck! (see extra). I phoned Mrs BB who works in the Police control room to ring Brian whom I know owns a recovery firm nearby, and ask him to ring me. All Mrs BB could do was laugh hysterically! She quickly found his number and he rang me. I used to have a lot of dealings with him as I was in charge of vehicle recoveries, among other things, when I was working and though it had been about 14 years, he remembered me and sent one of his men to pull me out!

My car was absolutely covered in mud, and I was soaked up to the tops of my thighs, as I had no option but to get out. Luckily, at the drivers side it did not come over the cill. The rear of the car was in a lot deeper! I'd taken my shoes off and was in socks as they'd have been ruined.

I sorted out the recovery chap with some money and will need to pop in and see Brian, his wife and daughter and sort them out. It'll be good to catch up on things. An expensive lesson that could have been a lot worse - I was well and truly skewered and grateful for the help!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.