Third_eye

By Third_eye

"The earth laughs in flowers"

-- Quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-82)

Yesterday it was a host of golden daffodils that brought relief to a dull day, but today I turn to something more exotic, without going out.  This beautiful orchid (Phalaenopsis to be precise) which I picked up at the local garden centre on my way home, will join those on my kitchen window sill, one still in bloom after flowering non-stop since last August, and another resting after its gorgeous display.

I love orchids, especially this species, not only because of their beauty but their undemanding management; they actually thrive on what lesser plants would regard as neglect!  Mine get their aerial roots sprayed about once a week with plain water at room temperature, and an occasional splash to dampen the compost when it becomes almost tinder-dry.  That's all, and the only fatality so far was with one I made the mistake of over-watering, believing that I was being kind and caring, but I know better now, and am sure this new one will give me pleasure for a very long time from her place in a north-west facing window which only sees full sunshine for a couple of hours each evening; just what these lovely plants enjoy!

Extras: A variation with the title translated into Chinese, prompted by a friend who mentioned that the processing made it look like a Chinese wall painting.
Plus another of my orchids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.