Mono Monday - Portrait

When I read that the topic for Mono Monday today was “portrait” my face fell. I’m stuck in the house all day and my only subject is Igor. What was worse he got all excited about being my subject. He showed me a Jane Bown photograph of Samuel Beckett and apparently he’s been waiting till he got to this age so he could ask someone to take a portrait of him that looked “just like that one” (see extras). No pressure then!!

Igor is the worst ever subject for photographing. He does not take direction well (understatement!!). I suppose having been a BBC producer means he’s used giving direction rather than receiving it. I used to be a teacher and I’m used to people doing what I ask them to do. Does that sound like a recipe for disaster?

Well ….. long story short …… on the plus side we’re not suing each other for divorce. I was however forced to put the “other” shot of him in extras so that you all know how it feels to have been in my studio (AKA the front porch) or as Igor called it "the dragons lair" for over half an hour when he should have been sitting reading the paper. 

How did I do? He was quite pleased with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.