Return to the North

By Viking

Chocks away chaps!

An early blip today with a perfect opportunity provided by this old biplane. Am assuming that it has perhaps been down at 'Warbirds over Wanaka' and is on it's way back to wherever it normally lives. The house here looks out on to a private airfield so am used to watching small planes come and go but this was special :-)
Even more special was meeting up with Wendy and Tony (Wendles56) , slippers over from the UK on holiday. Now I know how tough it is for a Yorkshire lass to go without  a proper brew so i invited them to join me for a cup of Yorkshire tea over in Canterbury. They popped in on their way to CHCH and their last couple of days in NZ. I knew from blipping that they were from Yorkshire (my old neck of the woods) but Yorkshire is a big place!
How absolutely amazing then that Wendy taught with the wife of one of my former colleagues at my old school in Leeds. I know NZ is a 'small world' but this just makes me realise the world is indeed 6 degrees of separation. 

Really wonderful to catch up and hopefully when I do a return trip to the UK in June/July I will be able to catch up with them again

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.