2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

more than time to arrive

Here's an R. S. Thomas (who was born on this day in 1913) poem, as taken from the pictured 2005 collection:


Night Sky

What they are saying is
that there is life there, too:
that the universe is the size it is
to enable us to catch up.

They have gone on from the human:
that shining is a reflection
of their intelligence. Godhead
is the colonisation by mind

of untenanted space. It is its own
light, a statement beyond language
of conceptual truth. Every night
is a rinsing myself of the darkness

that is in my veins. I let the stars inject me
with fire, silent as it is far,
but certain in its cauterising
of my despair. I am a slow

traveller, but there is more than time
to arrive. Resting in the intervals
of my breathing, I pick up the signals
relayed to me from a periphery I comprehend.

---

R. S. Thomas (1913 – 2000)

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.