Life as it used to be.

In my generation if you developed an insatiable need to know things then this is how your rooms were furnished. This is a small corner. In the computer room the Natural History reference collection runs into hundreds.

Twenty years ago one at least of he books in the photo would be consulted every day.

How times have changed. Now my first instinct is to search in the iPad on my knee. And very good it is too. If I look up a wild flower there will be thirty or forty photos at least and many different clues to its identity.

Good having the world a few taps away. But sad too. My grandchildren may think these rows of books which meant so much to me are rather quaint.

If they survive they may just sit there. But when the power goes off they may come back into their own.

I am sure some of you will be familiar withsome of these titles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.