Erythronium californicum 'White Beauty'

Today's the day ........................... to stay put

This gorgeous Erythronium - which I think is Erythronium californicum 'White Beauty', although I'm open to other suggestions - was originally given to me by my sister-in-law Margaret.

It grew in the garden of a house in Edinburgh that they used to live in and I always admired it.  So she dug some up for me and it did really well here too.  When we thought we were going to be moving house last year, I couldn't bear the thought of losing it.  I put some in a pot and tucked it away with the intention that I could just take the pot when we moved. 

But of course, we never did move - and I forgot all about the pot.  Erythroniums die away to nothing after flowering so there was nothing to remind me.  All the better then, when I re-discovered them recently, nearly in flower. 

Just as well that Nature looks after its own ..........................    

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.