Riding a Wave

This is the name of this sculpture in Plymouth outside the shopping centre where I met an ex work colleague this afternoon.  The artist Lucy Glendinning describes it  "a direct reference to the sea but more importantly a dynamics a sense of defying gravity, which gives the viewer a sense of possibility, potential of achievement, and therefore a lift." Well  anyone visiting Plymouth today sure needed a lift - dreary is the only name for how it felt in the rain, although the shopping area is dreary even in the height of summer! But I had a nice catch up with my friend and got to see this statue again which I love! The actual size of the diver can be seen after  the Carousel on Flickr, which gave some colour to the dismal grey as did the blue windows of the building behind it, but still pretty grim so I didn't take more than a handful!! 
I was meant to be cleaning the kitchen floor on my return ready for another ex work colleagues visit tomorrow, it took me the whole morning just to tidy stuff away  - but the 3 new girls distracted me, Pip is actually turning into the friendliest of the lot! She likes to sit on the step outside my conservatory and hops in to look at me so of course I have to pick her up and give her a cuddle! Henrietta is the one laying the egg I discovered today, she did not come out the coop with the others and when she finally  did she proclaimed the news of what she had just achieved by making a right clucking racket! 
Oh and the other thing that stopped me getting on with the floor is the fact I have people ringing my doorbell to ask me if I know whose car it is that is in the middle of the road outside my house Yes it's happened again! Handbrake failure and car rolling down the hill, only this time it got stopped by its passenger side rear bumper coming up against my drivers side front bumper!! So having failed to track down the owner by knocking on neighbours doors I have phoned the police - again! At least it's not blocking the road like last time, and it's resting on my car and does not seem to have done any damage - good job I wasn't planning going anywhere in my car this evening! 
P.S. The diver is a woman - no dangly bits, only pert bits! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.