West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Then and Now - St Clement Danes

It's been a while since I've done a Then and Now shot. When it was sunny at lunchtime I decided to go out and take the modern shot of St Clement Danes before spring arrives and the leaves hide the building completely. The sun didn't last and I had to shelter from a hailstorm before I could take this!

As with all these shots, it's only when I get both old and new enlarged side by side on the computer do I realise I wasn't in the right place. With this one, I think I should have been further back but there was a line of buses behind me waiting to start their route so it wouldn't have worked.

Background: My grandfather lived in London from about 1929 to early 1934 and took quite a lot of photos. I'm gradually visiting the same places and taking a modern day shot to compare with his. Other Then and Now shots are here (a few other people have used the tag too).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.