Early Departures

My friend of many talents is about to desert the sinking ship me and relocate to Eire for the foreseeable future. How she can contemplate such a move and leave me rudderless on a Monday, I don't know, but her compass is set fixedly to the west. I can only hope a fair wind blows her back before I become ' sans hair, sans teeth, sans everything'.

To mark the occasion I brought her back a small memento from my holiday in Portsoy, and meant to take it to her yesterday afternoon, but forgot......sans memory already...... and decided to trundle back over the Meadows this morning and leave it at her front door knowing that my early waking hours are not hers.

My reward for a 7am start was to find a cold frost covered Meadows with the rising sun catching the Barclay church and the buildings at Tollcross. There were a few Edinburghers up and about, and the magic of the morning made every one smile a greeting in passing. Living in a big bustling city, there are not many occasions when one feels comfortable smiling at passers by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.