Purple Dawn

March has been a whirlwind of a ride. What a weather sampler we've had. Some weeks, we've experienced all four seasons. Occasionally, all in the same day.

Rain moved through Sunday night into Monday. And then the great big winds arrived. They blustered and blew. They howled and sang. They rattled the house and shook the trees.

Times of changing weather can provide rich opportunities for the photographer. And on this morning, the cloud show was spectacular. I stopped by a little local pond and caught a bit of the sky show reflected on the waters.

The sky was changing every minute, and every photo I took was different. The light was coming and going. The sun would peak out, and then it would be squelched by a new, dark cloud. It could have been the battle of good and evil, taking place over my head.

In this particular shot, I caught some of the darkness. I am not always trying for darkness, but this time, I was. It turned the clouds purple, and once again I found a reason to fall in love with dawn, for purple is my favorite color.

I wanted the song to accompany this shot to be a love song; a love song for the purple dawn. And I've got a hankering for some Benatar this morning, so let's let it be one of hers.

Theirs is one of the most long-lasting and inspiring love stories in rock and roll: Pat Benatar and her husband Neil Giraldo (aka, Spyder), who is actually a fantastic guitar player but gets very little attention for it (and I'm not sure why). This is one of my favorite songs, and these two can rock it: Pat and Neil, with You Think You Know How to Love Me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.