The Road to Nowhere

"Only the journey is written, not the destination." - Ardeth Bay, in The Mummy Returns.

There are journeys we take only in our imaginations, but this was not one of them. The day began with a very cold morning, around 15 degrees F in our front yard. But it was quite sunny out and we wanted to go on an outdoor adventure. So we grabbed our daysacks, our hiking boots, a cooler, and a couple of chairs, and headed for Bald Eagle State Park.

We've only been to the park a few times since winter began. For some reason, we don't get there much in the coldest season. On the day after Christmas, we visited and it was lovely, and I captured pictures of the fence around the closed beach at the swimming area.

On our February visit, my husband and I went sledding on the sledding hill at the park. On cheap pieces of plastic, like a pair of fools, no less, we flew down the hill, tumbling head over heels and landing face-down in the snow. But hey, it was fun. And it only hurt a little. (Did I mention it was fun?)

But on this day, we were not there to sled, as the snow is mostly gone now, except in a few shady, protected spots. No, we were there to hike. And so we parked at a parking lot along the road to Upper Green's Run and hiked down a gated-off, abandoned old road. Had we walked in the opposite direction, we'd have made it to the lovely old Sand Hill Cemetery. But we did not, so I'll have to show you the cemetery on another day.

This road was in place long before the reservoir was created in 1971, is my guess. The road itself is cracking and falling to pieces. If you follow it all the way down to where it ends (although it seems to be ending pretty much everywhere), it goes to a popular fishing area along Bullit Run that is also reachable by Dowdy Hole Road.

As far as spring goes (and yes, this was a sort of reconnaissance mission), I have come back to report that spring is only in its very earliest phases. It will be quite some time before the trees are green and lush, dressed in their prettiest summer dresses. But the promise of spring is there, waiting to be born, along the road to nowhere.

Apparently, nowhere is a place I often go. Here are two bonus links to other roads to nowhere that I've encountered in my journey:
Foggy misty mono road to nowhere
Vibrant autumn blue-sky road to nowhere
Yes, nowhere is a place that I have been. . . .

The soundtrack is a favorite Dwight Yoakum tune, A Thousand Miles from Nowhere.

I'm a thousand miles from nowhere
Time don't matter to me
'Cause I'm a thousand miles from nowhere
And there's no place I want to be

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.