Alexandra Park, Hoole

An one of my voluntary driving jobs I took a couple of ladies into Hoole this morning. While waiting to take them back home again I walked down to the coffee shop in Faulkner Street via Alexandra Park. I made the retrospectively wise decision to take my camera while the sun was shining and take a couple of pictures.

The park was founded in 1904 and named after Queen Alexandra, who was married to King Edward VII, in 1911. The building in the background is Hoole Lodge which was formerly the park keeper's lodge.

 In February 2013 Cheshire West and Chester Council sold the building to a property developer who in turn sold it on for private ownership. However it seems that the council acted illegally as the park is not owned by the council but held in trust for the people of Hoole and therefore the building wasn't theirs to sell in the first place.  The case is ongoing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.