Salisbury Sunrise from the Chalk Pit!

Look LARGE! Look for the SPIRE!

The lurgy I mentioned the other day had taken over and so I spent almost two days watching Sweeney DVDs and catching up on the other site I post to.

The potential for another promising morning was just too much to miss out on and cabin fever and an element of 'well, the fresh air will either make me feel better - or worse.

So, a good long walk in the dark (ending with an hour of a lot of sticky slimy steep footpaths) and I'm atop the old chalk pit, looking out across.

It's quite dangerous up there and if one fell, it would be at least be a broken neck and limbs. The heavy tripod I lugged all the way up was getting viciously attacked by nasty strangling hawthorns, through which I was trying to poke my lens. My legs, through jeans, got scratched by their thorns too.

I got shots with the street lights still lit and waited. The big heavy tripod allowed for a stable platform at least a foot further forward than I'd dare tread, so that was definitely a wise companion and well worth lugging it up there. I won't be doing that again for a while, though!

But I was blessed with a great cloud formation and (trying to) use two graduated ND grey filters really brought the sky down, to reveal the whites in the chalk. 

I had also lugged up a big long lens to get close ups of the Cathedral, but the fabulous clouds and colour was the highlight. The clouds went on to form wonderful strato formations, making for  a much photographed morning and so glad I went out on Mission : SarumStroller tour de force - and yes, I felt quite a bit better since.

Comments etc will be limited I'm afraid for a bit.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.