Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

March Madness

 My night was weird.  I have been getting up in the middle of the night at least once since I was discharged.  I've had a difficult time actually falling asleep once my head hits the pillow, too.  I have been restless in bed, tossing and turning and checking the clock every 2 hours.

But last night felt different.  I went to bed about the same time as I have been throughout my recovery.  I tried to get comfortable but my neck hurt so I got up to take some Tramadol.  Once I was back in bed my mind started swirling...I kept running the 'letter to the editor' I felt I should write to our local newspaper about how a Donald Trump or Ted Cruz presidency would destroy our country and make the world a more dangerous place.

I sensed I was awake.  It felt like any other night when I couldn't clear my head.  I rolled over to look at my clock and it wasn't just two hours later (about midnight)...it was 5:47!  My first reaction was to say, "Holy shit!  The night is over!"  Not only did I not get up to use the bathroom during the night, I slept straight through it.

The scary thing about it all is that I am now having dreams nightmares about Trump/Cruz.  I'd better stop watching political commentary shows before I go to bed.  Maybe I should just stick to Modern Family, The Golden Girls  or Doc Martin!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.