Rocking the generations

This busker was playing by the Newport Pier as we went in for lunch at the Crab Cooker. He was still playing when we left, only now joined by this little fella who was determined to dance along.

Yesterday we drove down to Dana Point to meet my pathology adviser, Steve Campman, and his family for lunch. Steve was a young pathologist newly qualified and working out of the ME's office in Sacramento when I first encountered him nearly twenty years ago. We were introduced by a mutual friend, and over the years Steve has proved to be invaluable as my expert eyes and ears at every autopsy I have ever written. We also became friends, with J and I visiting him in the States, and he bringing his family to stay with us in France.

His parents couldn't afford to put him through med. school, so he joined the air force and they paid for his medical education, in return for which he has given them service with the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology (AFIP) over many years, also acting through a memorandum of understanding as a pathologist for the FBI. His experience, both at home and abroad, is extraordinary. He is now the Medical Examiner in San Diego.

A nicer and funnier man you could not hope to meet. I am just kicking myself for forgetting to take a pic so that I could blip him. Next time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.