stuartjross

By stuartjross

Paps of Jura

Coming home from holiday on Friday / Saturday (13 July 2012) I was killing time pacing around the Pearson Toronto airport shops and I scanned aimlessly along the magazine shelves. There was all the usual stuff, fashion, health, cars, computers but my eye fixed on an incredibly familiar scene which I recognised immediately. It was the Geographic magazine and on the front cover it had a photo of the stepping stones over a burn which walkers must cross on their way to climb the Paps of Jura. The stones are positioned right at the outlet of a hill loch called Loch an t-Siob. I'm told this is pronounced "Lochan Jeeb"

I was lucky enough to have work on Jura late last year and I stayed an extra night, at my own expense, to allow me to do this walk. It was bitterly cold, wet and windy high up on Beinn an Oir (Hill of Gold) but on my return lovely Autumn golden light lit up the slopes and in this photo you can just see the loch outlet though not the stepping stones.

Here's a link to other images on the day including the stepping stones:

Walk on the Paps of Jura

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.