The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Only Shades of Grey

I had not intended to save this image in b & w, but it's been a strange sort of day. We received a phone call early on, concerning the sudden death of one of my partner's mates, one of the gang from the lates 60s/early 70s. It's not appropriate for me to say much more, but it cast a shadow over the day.

Breakfast over, I rushed off to the special school where I volunteer, and was allowed to give massage to a student for the first time. I'm not able to talk about work publicly, but I'm happy to report that I read a number of Julia Donaldson stories to a variety of students over the lunchtime play session, and it's hard to say who enjoyed them more! Tyrannosuarus Drip is marvellous, if you haven't read it before.

Then it was on by bus to the hamlet where I teach aromatherapy on Tuesdays. I'd had no time to blip as planned in Stroud, so on arrival I took my camera up to the canal towpath, hoping for scenes of a bucolic nature. The light was noticeable by its absence, but vivid rambling roses caught my eye. However, I realised I was looking for something other than roses or trees, as these have been my previous and only two subjects. It was the same when I got home: lovely images of Bomble, our cat, in the cabin, but CleanSteve has been there already! And the silver tabby next door flatly refused to co operate.

So, after dragging the camping gear down from the attic, searching online for pegboard for my mother (it's called Perforated Hardboard in the UK, if anyone wants to know) and having supper before CS rushed off to a meeting, I finally got to looking at my pictures. This ivy on the towpath caught my eye originally because of its high shine. Having converted it to b & w without creating a backup, I decided to use it anyway, because it has a certain gothic appeal, and suits today's slightly sombre mood.

Can you spot the heart?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.