Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Castle Coch Cosmos

Mrs BB pointed out to me that it was a very starry night; and on checking it certainly was with no clouds around whatsoever. The best night we've had for a long time. So instead of going to bed at midnight I drove to Castle Coch, Tongwynlais, near Cardiff, and walked a quarter of a mile uphill in pitch black aided by my lamp to get a picture I've wanted for a while.

I spent forty fiev minutes and took a few from different angles. The one I like best is the blip photo which gives the trees a lovely circular feel around the castle and shows an abundance of stars. At the top in the middle you can see the 'Plough' formation and just above the right tower is 'Orions' belt.

Late morning, whilst Mrs BB was having her hair sorted out, I made my way to drop a 'thank you' card and a couple of gifts off to Brian and family who's firm rescued me on Monday. It was good to see them after nearly fifteen years, have a chat, and a moan about various things.

I just renewed my car insurance and was rewarded with a £25 M&S voucher, so this afternoon we made our way to there. I was after some more Italian moleskin trousers but they didn't have any as it's now summer stuff. The kind assistant found me some online, drastically reduced in the sale, so I had two pairs. I had enough left over to buy some stuffing to go with the Turkey crown that was cooking in the oven we'd put in the freezer at christmas. So it turkey sarnies and curries for a few days!

I hope you like my favourite castle surrounded by the cosmos. I've never seen it surrounded by stars before so a first for me. It's a 10 second exposure at ISO 6400 with my F2.8 fisheye lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.