If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

White Bridge Dalston

We needed to pop up to Carlisle to visit our jobbing Jeweller and Clickychick wanted to treat herself at Wilkinsons.  This took us up to lunch time so we decided to go out of town to Dalston before we had lunch.

I had a wander round the village to take some shots.  I did try for the "Dawstn Black Reed" on top of a Millennium Planter but the tree confused the shot too much.  I should explain what a "Dawstn Black Reed" is.  It is the local pronunciation of Dalston Black Red a type of fighting cock from history.  It is more or less the village badge along with the motto "While I live I crow".

Further on I took shots of the white bridge a local land mark.  First erected in 1899 and replaced in 1999 for the millennium.  It was closed for a while in 2010 when it was discovered  the support in the river had been undermined by floods.  I liked the effect created in this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.