TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

The Easter Peep Dance

Ring around the rosy, Pocket full of posies, Ashes, ashes, we all fall down.
Feel the lovely sunshine, Flowers all around, Hop a little hop right off the ground...

Today's Blip features the colorful Easter Peep cake that I baked and decorated for my family's Easter dinner. 
I don't usually use cake mix but in this instance I did - Pillsbury Purely Simple White Cake and Cupcake Mix. This is a fairly new product that contains no artificial colors, flavors, preservatives and no bleached flour. Now, I'm not a big fan of boxed cake mixes as a rule, but this one was very nice; the texture was perfect and it was actually pretty tasty.
Instead of buttercream frosting I used Cool Whip flavored with lemon pudding mix and a little powdered sugar; and it also turned out very yummy.
I finished up by dusting my creation with a little shredded coconut, topped it off with pastel colored sprinkles, and lined the edges with gaily dancing pink and purple bunny Peeps. 
The cake was really fun to make, the Fam seemed to like it and there was even several slices left over for me to enjoy in the coming days; a real win-win-win situation. Ya gotta love it when that happens. :)

"Don't ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive and go do it. Because what the world needs is more "peeps" who have come alive."

~ Howard Thurman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.