Toad Hall or t'old hall?

I've always imagined that this building was named by accident when an Ordnance Survey mapping surveyor asked a local Barnsley tyke what the place was cold and he answered in broad South Yorkshire, `Oh that, that's t'old hall'.  Misunderstanding the accent the surveyor wrote down what he heard and now it's recorded for posterity as Toad Hall!

A grey and rather miserable day after the sunshine of the last two days (clearly it doesn't want to get us feeling too optimistic about the weather) and I chose to walk round the valley circuit this morning, something I haven't done for quite a while.  On the whole I chose a few close-up images because of the poor light, like the close-up of this rotting tree trunk - another sycamore that amazingly is now coming into bud.  How long it will stay standing is anyone's guess and really rather dangerous as the tree is on the edge of the road.  

On a more positive note - isn't it great when IT things go according to plan.  I'd set the RAW file setting up on the camera yesterday when I came back from my walk, but then it wouldn't upload into Lightroom (which I knew needed updating).  But there's another problem as our internet connection is so slow.  Also I'l lost my password for the Adobe site.  Well I persevered and succeeded.  Here's the proof - I thought I'd opt for b & w seeing as how the whole light was so flat ... oh and a close-up of the tree.  Ann's going to report it to the Parish Council at the next meeting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.