A wet start

A very wet start to the day and then I didn't manage to find time to go out with the camera when the weather improved.
I've been working on some more background stencils for my `Waiting for Marco Polo' screen print.  I've got one of the prints accepted into the forthcoming Cuppola Gallery exhibition in Sheffield, but although I've had several attempts to get the background right the ones I feel happiest about are more by good-luck than judgement.
And last night we went to the Sheffield Photographic Knockout where there were 29 clubs from the surrounding region competing for the overall prize.  It was judged by Adrian Lines who did a fantastic job throughout - a very demanding task to make decisions about almost 150 images on the night.  I think my fellow club members missed a great opportunity - and at only £3 - where else can you learn so much for so little.  Unfortunately my image was knocked out in the first round (much to the amazement of Ann and M who is a YPU judge) along with two other photographs from fellow club members, but we did have two more that got into the 2nd and 3rd rounds - so overall we ended up as joint 17th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.