Hairy-footed flower bee

What a stunningly beautiful day! thought it's raining quite hard now. 
Inspired by the lovely sunshine (which always cheers me up) I went on a little trip into Surrey to look at some churches and wildlife. I had a lovely few hours meandering on my own with time on my side pottering around churchyards and other quiet undisturbed places.
My first stop was St Barnabas church Ranmore, a church built high on Ranmore common (near Dorking) on the North Downs way. The church was built in 1859 by George Cubitt MP and is 'High Victoriana' by design, a scaled-down cathedral to serve the 3 - 400 people who worked on the Denbies estate. Today it is grade 11 listed and hardly changed, and still amazingly spectacular, see my extra.
My main blip is the ever lovely Hairy-footed flower bee Anthophora plumipes, a little male who I managed to apprehend in my garden while he was on the look out for the black coloured females. I love his little face in macro, I think he look s like a goofy cartoon vampire! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.