Today's Special

By Connections

Faces

Today was opening day of the 24th season of the Bellingham Farmers Market, and the ceremonial cabbage was tossed by the mayor in fine style. 

It was cold and dark during all the opening day speeches, but shortly afterward the sun came out and the crowd's density increased exponentially. As we're heading south on Wednesday, I didn't buy much, but I enjoyed looking around at the surprising variety of fresh produce, and purchased some delicious radishes, arugula, and kale raab that I knew we'd get through in the next few days. There might have been a few sweet treats in my shopping bag as well...

Buskers were filling the market with music, and I was particularly taken with the young girl in the extras, who was playing lively Irish fiddle tunes with another lass her age.

There is another face I'd like to draw to your attention -- it's on Kendall's blip for today. Both that image and her words are deeply moving, and I hope you'll take time to look at both.

Blip 1513
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.