Rule of Three

When I found Tam, one of the local commercial fishermen, over by the west Harbour, I did enquire whether I had parked in the wrong space. He was surprised by my question as he'd parked his son's van across the road from my car. The handbrake may not have been fully engaged, however. Gagh.
Anyway, onward. I was there to get the boat engine started, and had already sussed that one of the batteries was on its last legs. What happened next was my fault, but I had surely been distracted by the shunt. I'd done everything I needed to do before starting the engine. Except one thing. Fit the new oil filter. So when the engine started so beautifully, out pissed my nice new oil. Quick! Switch off! Except the off switch didn't work. And and you know, diesels will run as long as they have air and fuel. After what seemed like an eternity, I got the fuel off and it shuddered to a halt. Well, it starts nicely! Red face. I got the switch out the control panel and into pieces. But there's no clicking from the stop solenoid. Hmmm. Tbc.
Off I toodled in my bashed car to pick up a battery. And got a call that the son, always in the wars, had come off his bike the previous night and fractured his elbow. I think his trial as a bench joiner may be less than short lived.
And where's that bloody new iPhone got to? I need the serious cheering up that only new hardware can provide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.