Some of my Deer Friends.

There seems to be no doubt that I have been spotted. But then they are spotted too. This herd of Fallow Deer is in Dallam Park, a country estate surrounding Dallam Towers.

I counted about eighty in the herd. It is possible to get quite near before they move away. They all move together in a compact group. This herd stays in the park but I have photographed a small group which lives freely about five miles away near Silverdale.

It used to be thought that they were introduced into England by the Normans but I read that evidence has been found that they were here in the first century A.D.

My extra shows a buck. He was standing on his own about 200 yards from the herd but when I appeared over the horizon he quickly joined them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.