When trains were trains . . .

. . . and stations were stations.

 
Heading North from Kent to Derby and, finding ourselves driving into Peterborough Services only to drive straight out again because of the number of vehicles and people, we continued on the A1 and followed a sign for Nene Railway. We parked up, ate our sandwiches and then wandered round the reclaimed railway that runs from to Wansford toPeterborough. It reminded me of how we used to travel to Derby a long time ago.
 
When I was a child my grandmother lived in Derby and we lived in Bradford. There were no motorways or major roads, and besides we didn’t have a car, so the journey to see Grandma was not easy. I think we sometimes borrowed my (other) grandfather’s car, but mostly we went with my mother on the train. I remember the stations, I remember the steam, I remember the carriages.
 
Today we were meeting my cousin in Derby, a cousin I hadn’t seen since we were children but was in contact with a few years ago when by chance we discovered we were both researching our shared family history. Since then we have met up, shared photos, memories and information, had lots of laughs and even had a (probably) wild goose chase trying to find out where our grandfather disappeared to when he was a teenager. Tonight the four of us met up for a meal and chat – a really lovely evening.
 
   
And tomorrow might be a trip down memory lane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.