Going back

Today I went back in time . . . but perhaps not quite as far as this! This is Arbor Low, an impressive (even though the stones have all fallen) stone circle that I noticed on the map and directed us out of our way to find we just happened upon as we wandered back home through Derbyshire. It was a bit wild up there when we eventually found it, but what a great site for a gathering place in ancient times.

In the morning I did not go quite so far back! We were given a wonderful conducted/chauffeured tour of all the places I remembered (and some I didn't) from when we used to go to Derby in the holidays, none of which I had been to since I was around nine years old. So strange seeing places now that have remained undisturbed in my memory from childhood - that street where Grandma lived was nowhere near as steep or as long as I remembered it, but the house was just the same; in the park I remembered the trees, but nothing else. What a strange thing memory is.

Then we meandered our way home through lovely Derbyshire countryside, via Kedleston Hall, a Stone Circle, a Bakewell tart or two . . . and a long drive up the A1/A66 in the late setting sun.
  
An eventful few days and now we are home and preparing for our big adventure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.