Big Walk from Tilshead to Shrewton....

High up on the active military area of Salisbury Plain. Partly on the Imber Perimeter Path.

Try it LARGE

My day with Ann yesterday might have had us running on occasion, uphill at that, but we did almost no walking. Three or four miles perhaps. So, I HAD to stretch my legs a bit today with a rather meandering jaunt over the undulating downland that makes up one of the most sparsely populated parts of the entire south of England. 

BUT -

For the second day in row, I got soaked - this brooding lot collapsed completely and sent a sea of hail so heavy, it looked like a snowstorm and half of that dribbled down the back of my neck. And being up so high, treeless and views 360 degrees, meant absolutely nothing to shelter under.  

Whilst I sat eating packed lunch at the National Trust's Neolithic White Barrow, http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/white-barrow - big booms boomed, as obviously our troops were practising something, at a rather alarming volume, followed by whistling screeches through the air in the opposite direction! 

The second part, from Orchestron to Shrewton was through pretty unspoilt villages, with daffodils glowing in the sun on the verges. Babbling brooks and white woolly sheep nibbling. 

After must be 10 or 12 miles walking today and the travelling on public transport for six hours yesterday, I am now genuinely fit for nothing. The weather is guaranteed to be absolutely rubbish tomorrow, so I'll catch up all you lovely lot then - cheers! - and a BIG thankyou for all your lovely comments on my Weymouth Blip yesterday.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.