it’s in the blood

a gig last night in Leicestershire
I leave home at tea-time - back at half-past one
Eight hours plus for a 1 hour slot
why do we do it?

my daddy was a trumpet man in a Silver Band
it’s in the blood

first on is a girl - 16 or so I guess
she’s nervous but needn’t be
she tells me she hates playing and singing at the same time
why does she do it?

her granddad had been someone in the 1960s
it’s in the blood

I pass Watford Gap at midnight
and think of bands heading South who stopped here 
just ghosts now - long since gone
why did they do it?

Auntie played the piano in the front parlour
it’s in the blood 

And now I’m back in Oxford again
for yet another blood test 
it’s been 10 long years and I hope it’s the last
why do I do it?

the cancer left the comfort of its cell one time
it’s in the blood

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.