the edges of my life

By raej

Tieu Long - first time on grass

Our big teenage bears moved out of the cub house last week - leaving the big cub enclosure free for our 7 youngsters.... first they had to be trained about electric fences (this enclosure is not roofed) - which they took in their stride.... today they were let out and discovered large climbing structures, tunnels, hammocks, a big pool and grass!!! (their old enclosure had never grown grass as we were desperate to get the cubs outside so we let them onto dirt)
Tieu Long is the youngest kid - he was rescued by FPD (Forestry Protection Division) in Oct last year - and we didnt get hold of him till January this year when he was a skinny little thing with a pot belly.... I love this photo cos he looks like a funny little wombat but I also love this one
with him smelling the flowers..... I had trouble choosing...
a very happy and exhausted bunch of cubs tonight - they didnt stop exploring and running around and going wild in the pool all day - I had a long (and hungover ) day- worked through lunch monitoring a bear waking up from anaesthetic and ran over to visit the cubs for 15 minutes.... it made my day...
also caught this Praying Mantis???? today - not sure if she was ok or not sitting on her butt like that? hopefully some insect people will see this and educate me :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.