First Robin

Dear Diary,

Finally, my Robins have returned.  I've seen two pairs so far.  This one came close enough to the house for me to photograph.  Our snow was all gone by early afternoon so now the Robins will be able to hunt for their worms without having to hop through the snow.  I love its tilted head as he carefully listens for worm activity or perhaps he just senses the movement beneath his feet.  He looks nice and plump though so he must have had some luck with his hunting.

The ice is out of the pond too.  I was looking at my posts of last year at this time and it was still ice bound which shows what a different winter we've had this year.  I'll be able to look for reflections now, something I love to do now that I've embraced the abstract delight of them.

The sun has some warmth but this morning it is 12 F so the air temperature is a bit nippy.  I tried to do a bit of gardening yesterday but it was just too cold for me to work comfortably.  I so want spring to arrive but you can't rush Mother Nature.  She will take her own sweet time.

If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant; if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome. ~Anne Bradstreet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.