Leiflife

By Leiflife

Acrylic Angel - Back Blip

I have never really taken to acrylics; the colors have seemed rather plastic and candy-colored. Yet a few weeks ago I took a workshop in acrylic abstracts. Just hoping to wake up the urge to get back the creative drive. The class was hard for me. It seemed crowded and noisy, not conducive to focus. For me, not conducive to the kind of freedom and playfulness that I associate with abstraction. I found it stressful and exhausting, and the results were tucked away and pretty much forgotten. 

But yesterday, when the amazing Eva was dusting (and perhaps being curious about what I was doing), she discovered this small painting, and from upstairs I heard her enraptured exclamations. I went to see what had caught her eye, and found her with this acrylic (angel?) in hand, and she proceeded to tell me why I needed to do more. She loved the textures and the sculptural aspect of the painting. She loved the flow and spiritual feeling it gave her to look at it. 

Maybe her innocent pleasure in my art, vocalized so sincerely, was exactly what I needed to hear. My energy and hope revived, and I nearly forgot about recent physical trials. For the rest of the day I rode the current of that positive start. Anything seemed possible. Even the ache and tiredness coming on later in the day seemed of the positive sort. It was there because I had lived the day well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.