Mediocrity Photography

By EqoZ

Waiting for the Dogg Haus?

(side note - it's frustrating, I had already blipped this last week, had a nice but rambling journal all about it, and it never took or I forgot to submit it. I don't know how well I'll recreate the journal, so bear with me)

This was just a quick shot I took as we waited at a red light on the way to work. This is just off of Marquette University's campus, and I'm sorry to say that despite the name, The Dogg Haus has very little in the way of German cuisine. It is a place you could go, however, for various assorted sausage-esque foods. It's been around since 2005, and I've been meaning to try it.

The reason I've never made it there is located just left of the shot. 1 shop away from The Dogg Haus is the far more historic Real Chili. Real Chili has been around since 1931, and while I'm relatively late to the party, it's a fantastic place to buy a large amount of "absolutely not good for you" chili. Served on spaghetti noodles, it's a surprisingly filling meal, especially when you order some onions and cheese, and apply liberal amounts of oyster crackers. Their website says "Preventing Milwaukee's hangovers since 1931," and while I've never been in a position to speak to that, I will say it's fun to have once in a while. I can't imagine a situation where I'm looking for trash food that would cause me to pick a hot dog over a bowl of chili.

Don't get me wrong, I've nothing against hot dogs or their sausagey kind. I'm known to enjoy a Chicago-style Hot Dog on occasion, and being from Wisconsin, I have a soft spot for bratwurst, Italian Sausages, Polish Sausages and Belgian Sausages (that last one is a made up food, I just didn't want the Belgians to feel left out), but usually if I'm going to have something like that, I'll make it myself and enjoy it even more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.