Not the Birthday Girl

My lovely friend glasshalffull and I ventured out to Helensburgh on the west coast. The weather forecast in the morning said that only Orkney and Shetland could expect to see the sun. That's liberating - anywhere we could expect to go on a day trip would get sun.

When we arrived in Helensburgh it was raining so we went to a pleasant café for tea and a scone. It then started to pour down rain - perfect timing because we had just sat down. By the time we finished it was back to a very light drizzle.

We went up the road to see Hill House , designed by Charles Rennie Macintosh and unknown to me until last week, thanks to a suggestion from fellow blipper Cameron. It's a gorgeous place. We had a good nosey around and then stopped for more tea and a flapjack. We then noticed that the sun was out so we toured around the gardens, I got this blip ("you can't see me!") and then we went back inside for a second tour. I'm so glad we did. I noticed so much more the second time around with less people in the house. It was thoroughly pleasant.

I then noticed a brochure describing the streets in Helensburgh that are best to see cherry and apple blossoms. We toured around and it's safe to say the blossoms won't be out for a wee while but I think in another three to four weeks it might be worth a return trip.

We had sunshine all the way home and I ended the evening surrounded by daffodils enjoying a long overdue conversation with one of my oldest friends.

All in all an excellent birthday!

Thank you all for your kind wishes on Tuesday's blip, you guys are Amazing!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.