Fifty and Fabulous!*

So today I turned 50. Half a century. How did that happen? I'm going to write about the day in some detail for my own memory - you may wish to just flit to the extras. 

After taking the silly photo featured, I took a taxi to Waverley to meet my friend Stuart to go to Glasgow to take photos. The taxi wasn't a classic black cab but rather a people carrier with long slidey doors. When the driver stopped to let me out, he said "Can you manage that door, hen?" to which I replied "Today is my 50th birthday and I can manage anything!" So the day was off to a good start.

Stuart met me with coffee and cake that he had brought from his local bakery - such thoughtfulness! We meandered through Sauchiehall, Garnethill and then into the West End. The weather was a bit nippy but perfectly alright and provided a good excuse to stop in a café along the Kelvin. After much bimbling we had lunch in a suitably noodley and spicy venue. A Joni Mitchell song came on from my favourite album, and then another and another. It turned out the album was a favourite of the waiters. What an unexpected treat to hear a singer from my home province. After lunch Stuart reminded me that I had to have ice cream on my birthday. I'm lucky to have such a friend. We came back to the station via St Enoch's and the Lighthouse, taking photos all along the way.

Back in Edinburgh I was met by another friend, Alasdair, for drinks and dinner. We had a wide-ranging talk and a great deal of merriment. I even got a slice of cake with a lit candle. Dear Reader, I made a wish...

Well, here's to the next decade. The last couple were pretty good so I'm looking ahead. 

I've now back-blipped to Sunday, with the lovely SaraEvans coming up to seal my birthday celebrations. 

Thank you wonderful blippers for your encouragement, your support and your good company. xx

* Setting my intention

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.